There are only two weeks left for people to take part in a Community Governance Review (CGR) of Stourport-on-Severn.

Wyre Forest District Council is carrying out a CGR of the town following a request from the Town Council.  It perceives there to be anomalies in the distribution of seats on the Town Council.

Stourport Town Council is currently made up of 18 Councillors and six wards.  Following changes which were introduced after the Local Government Boundary Commission Review in 2014 there is a big difference in the number of people each councillor represents.  In Stour & Wilden ward there are 6 councillors each representing around 550 electors, while in Stourport North there are 2 councillors each representing around 2070 councillors each.

The CGR is being undertaken under the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007.  It looks at all issues relating to the governance of the area and not just the electoral arrangements.

The terms of reference for the CGR were published at the start of November.  Wyre Forest District Council is asking for comments and views from local electors and other interested parties on what the potential future arrangements should be.  The Terms of Reference includes some possible alternative arrangements for the distribution of seats.  They can be viewed on the council’s website or at Wyre Forest District Council’s offices at Wyre Forest House, Finepoint Way, Kidderminster DY11 7WF.  They are also available at Stourport-on-Severn Town Council’s Office or Stourport-on-Severn Library, Civic Centre, New Street, Stourport-on-Severn, DY13 8UN.

Ian Miller, Returning Officer said:

“We welcome all ideas and proposals for the governance of Stourport-on-Severn.   We have included some suggestions for the numbers of councillors per ward in the CGR terms of reference but this is just to give people an idea of possible alternatives to the current set up.  The responses to the consultation will be discussed by full Council at its meeting on Wednesday 22 February.”

Any changes to the governance of Stourport would have to be agreed by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England.  They would not come into effect until the next Stourport Town Council elections in May 2019.

Comments can be emailed to and should be submitted by 5pm on Wednesday 1 February 2017.  The can also be posted to Electoral Services, Wyre Forest District Council, Wyre Forest House, Finepoint Way, Kidderminster, Worcestershire, DY11 7WF.

The Council meeting will be webcast on Wednesday 22 February from 6pm and can be viewed at