Councillor David Little, who represents the Lickhill ward of Wyre Forest District Council has been elected the new chairman of the authority. He replaces outgoing chairman Councillor Rose Bishop. 

Councillor Little was elected to represent Lickhill ward in May 2015 but is a well known figure in local politics.  He has a decade of experience as a district councillor having originally represented Lickhill between 1986 and 1990 and then went onto represent Mitton between 1992 and 1996. He is also a town councillor and has been Mayor of the town on two occasions.

Councillor Little originally comes from Northumberland, but moved to Stourport-on-Severn with his engineering job in 1963.  He was part of a residents’ association which fought to get a gas supply to housing in Burlish, Stourport-on-Severn.  It was following this campaign that he was approached to stand for election and his public role grew from there!

In his spare time Councillor Little is a keen clock collector and for the past 30 years he’s been maintaining and winding up the clock on the Yacht Club tower in Stourport-on-Severn.  Now he will also be keeping a watchful eye over council proceedings.

He said:

“I’m delighted to be serving as Chairman of Wyre Forest District Council for this municipal year.  We are so lucky to be surrounded by beautiful countryside in this district and I will be highlighting the many positive things about the area during my year in the chair.  I am also looking forward to representing the council at events and organising fundraising occasions for my chosen charities.”


Councillor Little is supporting the Air Ambulance and Macmillan Nurses. 

The Council elected Councillor John Campion as Vice Chairman.  Councillor Campion represents Bewdley & Rock ward.  He was first elected to the council in 2004 and was Leader between 2007 and 2014.

Any organisations interested in inviting the Chairman to an event should email

Karen Walsh at or call 01562 732708.